November - Annual Joint Meeting of SME/ASABE/SAE/ASME/SWE

Annual Joint Meeting of SME/ASABE/SAE/ASME/SWE

“Energy, Engineering and Education: Iowa’s future”

Students – $10

Payment online via credit card.

John Deere employees should use discount code “Deere". Use of this will be closely monitored, so only use if you are a John Deere employee.

Non-Members – $30

Members – $30

You are invited to attend the annual Joint Section Meeting of the following engineering societies:

Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME), Waterloo Chapter

American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE), Iowa Section

Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE), Mississippi Valley Section

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), Central Iowa Section

Society of Women Engineers (SWE), Cedar Valley Section

The theme for this year's meeting is: Energy, Engineering and Education: Iowa’s future

Go to the following web link for more information and to register:

Registrations due Thursday, November 1st.

Please mark your calendar and register to attend this event.

Date – Thursday, November 8th, 2012

Meeting Location – The Supervisors’ Club, 3265 Dewitt Road, Waterloo, IA


4:00 – 5:00 pm – Registration & Social Hour

5:00 – 6:00 pm – Concurrent Technical Sessions

6:00 – 6:45 pm – Social Hour

6:45 – 7:30 pm – Buffet Dinner

7:30 – 8:00 pm – Keynote Speaker

Technical Sessions

1. "Rock Island Clean Line: A High-Voltage Direct Current Project” – Beth Conley (Regional Outreach Manager, Rock Island Clean Line)

Beth Conley serves as Regional Outreach Manager for the Rock Island Clean Line, a high voltage, over-head, direct current transmission line project. Beth graduated from Drake University with a degree in Sociology. She served in the United States Peace Corps in Guinea, West Africa where she served as a high school teacher, did HIV/AIDS prevention education, and promoted education for young women. She holds a Master’s degree in Public Administration from Drake University. She has previously worked promoting youth engagement and national service at the Points of Light Foundation and managing AmeriCorps grants at the Iowa Commission on Volunteer Service. Immediately prior to joining Clean Line she worked for the Iowa Department of Economic Development recruiting companies that manufacture components for the wind and other renewable energy industries.

2. “Solar and Wind Power – Iowa’s Future” – Bill Haman, P.E (Alternate Energy Revolving Loan Program Manager Iowa Energy Center)

Mr. Haman is a registered professional engineer in the States of Iowa and Wisconsin. He earned a Bachelor of Science in civil engineering from the University of Iowa and a Master of Science in mechanical engineering from Iowa State University. Mr. Haman has over 30 years of engineering experience in both the public and private sectors. Mr. Haman’s career began with ten years of service at the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers where he served as a design engineer and team lead for the mechanical/electrical section. Mr. Haman left the Corps of Engineers for a facility engineer position at the University of Iowa’s Physical Plant before joining Mead & Hunt Consulting Engineers where he served as a senior design engineer/project manager. Mr. Haman joined the Iowa Energy Center in 1995 where he has served as the industrial programs manager. Mr. Haman additionally assumed responsibilities for managing the Iowa Energy Center’s Alternate Energy Revolving Loan Program in 1996.

3. "Status and future of Biomass Harvesting" – Jeremiah Johnson (Engineer, John Deere Harvester Works)

Information to follow.

Keynote Speaker - “The Governor’s STEM Advisory Council: Iowa’s Effort to Rise Above the Gathering Storm” – President Ben Allen (President, University of Northern Iowa; Co-chair, STEM Advisory Council (CCEFP), University of Minnesota)

Benjamin J. Allen was named the ninth president of the University of Northern Iowa on April 28, 2006, and assumed his duties on June 5, 2006. He received his doctorate and master's degree in economics from the University of Illinois and his bachelor's of science degree in business economics from Indiana University.

President Allen was vice president for academic affairs and provost at Iowa State University and was responsible to the president in all aspects of the academic programs at Iowa State. He has the distinction of having been named the first University Distinguished Professor in Business at ISU.

Before joining the ISU faculty in 1979, he taught at Washington State University and was a Brookings Economic Policy Fellow in the Office of Transportation Regulatory Policy, U.S. Department of Transportation. He was the Visiting McKinley Professor of Economics and Public Utilities at the University of Illinois in 1986-87 and held the Oren Harris Chair in Transportation at the University of Arkansas during the 1990-91 academic year. In 1999 he was appointed chairperson of the committee for the study of Freight Capacity for the Next Century, Transportation Research Board, National Research Council, National Academy of Sciences.

In 2007, President Allen was appointed by two state college associations (the American Association of State Colleges and Universities and the National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges) to the Presidential Advisory Committee for the National Commission of University Accountability. In June 2010, President Allen received a Congressional appointment to serve on the National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity (NACIQI). This committee is required by law to advise the Secretary of Education with respect to establishment and enforcement of the standards of accrediting agencies or associations.

Under his leadership, the University of Northern Iowa has established priorities of increasing student achievement in undergraduate programs and providing statewide leadership in Pre-K through 12 education, including UNI's lead role in the Iowa Mathematics and Science Education Partnership with Iowa State University and the University of Iowa.

In July 2011, Gov. Branstad and Lt. Gov. Reynolds declared Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) a priority for our state. Governor Branstad has asked President Allen to serve as co-chair with Lieutenant Governor Reynolds of the STEM Advisory Council. President Allen also co-chairs the Iowa Business Council's Education Excellence in Iowa Roundtable, a non-partisan forum of business and education leaders focused on improving pre-K-16 academic achievement and establishing career development opportunities. He previously co-chaired the Institute for Tomorrow's Workforce, a non-profit educational foundation helping Iowa learners prepare for the global marketplace. A strong supporter of the local community, President Allen is a member of the executive committee of the Greater Cedar Valley Alliance. He and Pat Allen served as co-chairs of the 2010 Cedar Valley United Way Campaign.

Click on the below link or paste it into a web browser for directions to the meeting location:,+Waterloo,+IA+(The+Supervisors%E2%80%99+Club)&hl=en&ie=UTF8&sll=42.495044,-92.339976&sspn=0.012404,0.021243&t=h&hnear=3265+Dewitt+Rd,+Waterloo,+Iowa+50701&z=16


We encourage Spouses, Friends, and Significant Others to attend.

We look forward to seeing you there!

For additional information or questions please contact:

Alex Ryan

Program Chair

American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE)

Phone: (319) 292-8454

Updated: 17-Oct-2012 | Webmaster

Copyright © SME Chapter 186